“Live as if you were to die tomorrow.
Learn as if you were to live forever.”
Mahatma Gandhi

Death is something I think all of us wonder about. It’s a constant underlying fear, that our time will come sooner than we’re ready for. But are we ever really ready? I try to live my life in the hope that when I die, I won’t have any regrets. We regret the things we didn’t do, more than what we did do, or at least that’s what people say. So with this in mind, I try and make the most of everything I have. I think we all take life for granted, far more than we should, myself included.

We have to find a balance between not living with (too many) regrets, but also leaving a positive impact for others when we go. For once we’re gone, it is those we have left behind who must continue on. It’s all good and well living for yourself, but we cannot be selfish. I firmly believe you should never do something just because others tell you to, or think you should, you must make decisions for yourself. If you have been given the gift of autonomy and free thought, use it. Use it to do good, and leave people inspired. Inspired to follow their hearts, to truly live their lives to the fullest, to actively help others, to do more than just survive in this world, we must try to better it.

We live in such a harsh reality. Where life is taken too soon, and suffering is a daily certainty. There are things however, that can be done to relieve some of this world’s suffering, so that when death comes we at least have some closure. We must care for one another. There is enough illness, natural disasters and accidents on this Earth killing us off, we as a species do not need to add to it. Yet we do. From greed, and wrath, and arrogance comes enough hatred for us to happily destroy ourselves. For many, death, as a concept, has become a common occurrence that barely phases us, perhaps for some it is the only way to deal with the horror of loss. We are powerless against it, and none can escape. Once our time has gone, that’s it. Show’s over. It’s a paralyzing fear knowing one day you won’t be here anymore. What’s worse is the fear that your loved ones will leave before you. That they go, and you are left without those you hold dearest, wishing they had just one more day, wishing you had just a little more time with them.

Anything could happen at any moment, there is too much uncertainty to predict how, when or why. I don’t think I’d wish to know if I could though. To know would change how you live your life, I believe it could consume you. Your every thought would be shadowed by the looming knowledge of your fate. It might push you to live a better life, but in all fairness, we shouldn’t need a reason to try and live to the best of our ability, apart from the fact as human beings with free will, we have the opportunity to. Every day we make choices. Big ones, small ones, what we’re going to wear, when we start that assignment, to whether you stop to hold the door, or save that person’s life… A billion or more choices a day. Yet, so often we live on autopilot. Drifting through our days till something pulls us out of it, and we don’t know how long the awareness will last till we slip back into our routines. I don’t want to live on autopilot. I want to be conscious of each moment, painful or euphoric, and I want to live my life to the best of my ability, mistakes and all. And more than anything, before I die, I want to inspire people. I want to help them find their vocation, find love, find happiness, find something that helps them be better. For an inspired humanity, with something to live for, and more than that, something  they are willing to die for, is a humanity more willing to make the choice to do what is right, and that’s a world I’d want to live in.

I wrote this late one night a few weeks ago. I thought I’d include it, considering it goes with the theme of this entry.

Death (23 May 2016)
I wonder what death feels like,
The last pain I might endure,
That when my body becomes cold and pale,
He might whisper in my ear,
The wise words of Death himself,
To guide me away from here,
Or will the darkness overflow,
And so in silence I might depart,
I hope in any case it will be peace that’s in my heart,

I wonder what death feels like,
Will it be fast or will it be slow,
Calmly drift off as I sleep,
Or in a whirlwind of pain I cannot know,
At any time, or in any place he could collect my soul,
And take me to the world above, that I might finally let go,
Whenever Death takes me, I hope that I can say,
I lived my life the best I could, fulfilled in every way.

We can accept the world is a horrible place, and continue to live in ignorance of its true horrors. We can pretend it’s not really that bad. We can hide from the shame of not helping our fellow people. We could do that. But what kind of life would that be? What kind of life would it be pretending the horrors didn’t exist? It wouldn’t be a life at all. It would be like a twisted fairy tale. Instead, we could do something. If every person on Earth tried to do one good thing a day. Just one. The world would get a little better. If everyone shed their distractions for a minute a day, and focused on doing something to help end the cruelties of humanity’s creation, we might actually get somewhere. But not everyone will. However, that’s not an excuse to be one of those people. There is no reason not to be kind. No excuse not to better society. And no justification in ignoring what goes on around you. Seeing immorality and doing nothing, is almost worse than being immoral yourself. Just because there is someone doing worse, does not mean you can let yourself make bad decisions. Make mistakes by all means, you’ll learn from them. But live with good intentions, and intend to cause good consequences, otherwise you’ll find yourself on your deathbed wondering what you did with your life, and you might not like the answer. We could go at literally any moment, for any unseen reason, so don’t let yourself down by not living to your full potential. It is never too late to start bettering yourself, and the world around you.  So I implore you to try. Try and do something to make this world better. It needs as much help as it can get.

Thank you for reading, and I wish you luck with all your endeavours, and please, try to do something good with your life. Like I said before, it’s never too late to try to do good.

One thought on “Life, Death & Everything Inbetween

Leave a Reply

